Julie Inman Grant

Australian Government

eSafety Commissioner

Julie Inman Grant is Australia’s eSafety Commissioner. In this role, Julie leads the world’s first government regulatory agency committed to keeping its citizens safer online.  She was appointed as eSafety Commissioner on 23 November 2016 and began in the role in January 2017.

Julie has extensive experience in the not-for-profit and government sectors and spent 2 decades working in senior public policy and safety roles in the tech industry at Microsoft, Twitter and Adobe.

Julie’s career began in Washington DC, working in the US Congress and the not-for-profit sector before taking on a role at Microsoft. Her experience at Microsoft spanned 17 years. She established the DC office and its corporate affairs functions for Australia and New Zealand, and across the Asia-Pacific, ultimately culminating in the role of Global Safety Director for Privacy and Safety. 

At Twitter, she set up and drove the company’s policy, safety and philanthropy programs across Australia, New Zealand and Southeast Asia. 

As Commissioner, Julie plays an important global role as Chair of the Child Dignity Alliance’s Technical Working Group and as a Board Member of the WePROTECT Global Alliance. She also serves on the World Economic Forum’s Global Coalition for Digital Safety and on its XR Ecosystem Governance Steering Committee on Building and Defining the Metaverse. Under her leadership, eSafety has joined forces with the White House Gender Policy Council and Government of Denmark representing Australia on the Global Partnership for Action on Gender-Based Harassment and Abuse.

In 2021, Julie oversaw significant increases in the eSafety office’s budget, increased staffing levels and launched the global Safety by Design initiative. As Commissioner, she has led work to stand up novel and world-first regulatory regimes under the new Online Safety Act 2021, with implementation of a sweeping new set of reforms beginning on 23 January 2022. Commissioner Inman Grant was reappointed for a further 5-year term by the Australian Government in January 2022. 

More information can be found at www.esafety.gov.au.